Staff & Board

St. Paul Staff – 651.290.0154

Steve Morse, Executive Director he/him
Twitter: sjemorse

Email Steve

Steve is a well-known leader in the state environmental community with expertise in public policy and a broad range of environmental issues, as well as inside knowledge of both legislative and state agency processes. Prior to joining MEP in 2006, Steve served as a Senior Fellow in the College of Agriculture, Food and Environmental Sciences at the University of Minnesota. While there, he developed and ran the Green Lands, Blue Waters initiative, a Mississippi basin-wide cross-disciplinary initiative to address the long-term ecological impacts of agricultural practices on water quality. Steve was Deputy Commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources from 1999-2003. Prior to his appointment to the DNR, Steve represented southeast Minnesota in the Minnesota State Senate for 12 years, beginning in 1987.

Matt Doll, Operations and Engagement Director he/him

Email Matt

Matt joined MEP in 2017, and handles the coalition’s communications, member services, individual fundraising, and operations. He has previously worked with the Sierra Club as a Legislative Intern and volunteer, assisting with advocacy, research, and writing for the North Star Chapter’s policy campaigns. He holds a B.A. from UMN-Twin Cities with a major in Political Science and a minor in Global Studies. A Wisconsin-born resident of Saint Paul, Matt is an avid explorer of Minnesota’s outdoor spaces and enjoys baking, reading, and hiking with his dog.

Cecilia Verónica Calvo, Director of Advocacy and Inclusion – she/her

Email Cecilia

Calvo is an expert on environmental issues, including climate change, children’s health and natural resource policy, and has worked domestically and internationally to help respond to these challenges. Her passion for the social justice dimensions surrounding environmental concerns stems from the impact of environmental degradation on the lives, health, and rights of vulnerable people and communities.
Previously, Calvo led the environmental justice efforts of the Jesuit Conference of Canada and the United States as their Senior Advisor on Environmental Justice within the Office of Justice and Ecology in Washington DC. From 2007 to 2016, Calvo led the U.S. bishops’ Environmental Justice Program, where she coordinated the education, outreach and advocacy efforts. In this capacity, she played a key role in the promotion of Pope Francis’ environmental encyclical, Laudato Si’.

Northeastern Minnesota Staff – 218.727.0800

Andrew Slade, Director of Foundation Relationshe/him

Email Andrew

Andrew works with the foundation community and MEP staff to ensure support for MEP’s diverse and changing work as well as for core operations. Previously Andrew directed MEP’s Great Lakes programs and has been with MEP since 2009. He has a BA in Environmental Education from the University of Minnesota and an MS in Environmental Studies from the University of Montana. He lives in Ely, Minnesota.

Cristin Curwick, Northeast Minnesota Organizer – she/her

Email Cristin

Cristin joins MEP as our Northeast Minnesota Organizer, connecting with frontline community members on issues of water quality in the Great Lakes. Cristin worked previously with MN350 as their Communications Intern and served a year as an AmeriCorps VISTA for Ecolibrium3 helping build their capacity and assisting in fundraising strategies. She received a B.A. in Environmental Studies from the College of Saint Benedict and has a strong passion for water rights. Cristin enjoys any excuse to explore new trails around the North Shore as well as kayaking, camping, and cross-country skiing.

Board of Directors

MEP’s Board of Directors includes up to 13 Directors elected from and by our member organizations, and up to 5 Directors appointed by the Board.

Joe Beattie
Hastings Environmental Protectors

Kathleen Doran-Norton
League of Women Voters Minnesota

Theresa Keaveny
Climate Land Leaders

Amanda Koehler
Land Stewardship Project

Howard Markus
Wild Ones St. Croix Oak Savanna Chapter

Sarah MooradianSecretary
CURE (Clean Up the River Environment)

Matt Norton
Northeastern Minnesotans for Wilderness

Karen Olson Johnson – Treasurer

Karuna Ojanen
Minnesota Well Owners Organization

Tim Schaefer – Vice Chair

Avonna Stark
Clean Water Action Minnesota

Whitney Terrill – Chair
Sierra Club